X

EU Visitor Notice: This Website Uses Cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, to provide analytical data to better serve our visitors, and to serve advertising to fund our operations. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Privacy & Cookie Policy.

Your preference will be saved for 90 days, or until you clear your browser cookies.


I AGREE
I DISAGREE
Learn More

Comics

The Awesomer is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

Movie Teaser: Kick-Ass

Movie Teaser: Kick-Ass

Based on the comic books, this first teaser for Kick-Ass easily drop-kicks its way into our geeky hearts; it’s about teenagers who decide to become real-life superheroes (sans powers).

Funny: Batman Vanishing

Funny: Batman Vanishing

The Dark Knight wasn’t always the invisible predator we know and love today: Batman Vanishing shows our favorite vigilante crusader in his early (and considerably less stealthy) days.

Advertisement

Replica Batmobile

Replica Batmobile

Holy awesome, Batman: made by Gotham Cruisers, this Replica 1966 Batmobile may be based on a ’76 Continental, but features a working flamethrower, parachute packs and batphone.

Comic Strip Mashups

Comic Strip Mashups

Ryan Dunlavey’s Comic Strip Mashups awesomely marry science fiction and weekend funnies; Dark Side and Fantastic Family Circus rock, but there’s no beating Spy vs Spy vs AvP.

Create Your Own Comic

Create Your Own Comic

Your inner caped crusader won’t want to miss Marvel’s Create Your Own Comic: make and print up to a 22-page comic book with dozens of characters, backgrounds and layouts.

Astonishing X-Men Omnibus

Astonishing X-Men Omnibus

Fans of Joss Whedon and John Cassaday’s original Astonishing X-Men run will love the Omnibus: totaling 672 pages, it includes all 24 issues and Giant Size Astonishing X-Men #1.

Book: Logicomix

Book: Logicomix

Break out the axioms, because Logicomix is a comic book for math geeks and philosophers; it’s based on Bertrand Russell’s life and features other logic-driven luminaries.

Dr. Grordbort’s Victory

Dr. Grordbort’s Victory

Now available for Victorian men and women: Dr. Grordbort’s Victory is a steampunk-themed book that delves into the backstories and mythos behind Weta’s collectible ray-gun line.

Book: xkcd volume 0

Book: xkcd volume 0

Everyone’s favorite stick figure web comic finally goes pulpy: xkcd: volume 0 is now available (link: Randall Munroe’s book tour schedule); a portion of profits will go to charity.

Gameplay: Marvel UA2

Gameplay: Marvel UA2

Available today, Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 unloads the awesome in this Gameplay Montage; regardless of which side you pick in the superhero civil war, this game looks like a winner.

Marvel/Disney Hybrids

Marvel/Disney Hybrids

Worth1000.com’s Photoshop army takes on Disney’s surprise acquisition of Marvel Comics with Marvel/Disney Hybrids; our favorites: Mickey’s Fantastic Four and Snow White Hulk.

Trailer: X-Men: Gifted

Trailer: X-Men: Gifted

Above is the first full trailer for X-Men: Gifted motion comic, penned by Joss Whedon and illustrated by Captain America’s John Cassaday; it’ll be available on iTunes October 28.

Comic-Con 2009 Cosplay

Comic-Con 2009 Cosplay

The most important part of Comic-Con 2009 wasn’t the games, movies or even comics: it was the hordes of cosplayers; check out Maximum PC’s huge collection of 600 photos. Thanks, Jerry!

Advertisement

Green Hornet: Black Beauty

Green Hornet: Black Beauty

For auto buffs, the star of Comic Con was likely Black Beauty, a modded ’60s Imperial Crown for the upcoming Green Lantern movie; it boasts gatling guns, missiles and green headlights.

Ignition City Rayguns

Ignition City Rayguns

A “science story for grown-ups with swearing and rayguns,” Warren Ellis’ Ignition City now has a quartet of 1:1 scale raygun replicas from the comic miniseries; absolutely DO WANT.

Walking Dead Compendium

Walking Dead Compendium

With over 1,000 pages, the Walking Dead Compendium is a braaaainfest like none other; it collects issues #1-#48 of Robert Kirkman’s George Romero-inspired Walking Dead comics.

Galtow Designer Tees

Galtow Designer Tees

Xmoor Studios’ Galtow comic is set in an alternate history USA where Bushido-style warriors have replaced urban gangs; we’re really digging their line of four slick designer tees.

Star Trek: Countdown TPB

Star Trek: Countdown TPB

We’re leery of movie tie-ins, but Star Trek: Countdown helps to establish continuity with the last Trek movie (Nemesis); all four comics are combined in this trade paperback edition.

Website: The Realm

Website: The Realm

Cisco Security’s The Realm is a goofy but commendable effort to make internet security look cool; it features superheroes with abilities like “extrasensory authentication.”

Tales of the Black Freighter

Tales of the Black Freighter

Available March 24th, Tales of the Black Freighter (DVD, BD) is an animated retelling of a fictional comic book within the Watchmen; for some, it’s arguably the best part of the graphic novel.

Advertisement

Realistic Far Side Cartoons

Realistic Far Side Cartoons

Kids from the 80s and 90s will likely remember Gary Larson’s goofy (yet succinct) comics; Worth1000 has a contest up for readers to create realistic versions of Far Side.

Book: The DC Vault

Book: The DC Vault

DC Comics fans should pick up The DC Vault; it’s a 192 page “museum in a book” of memorabilia and collectibles stretching back to the 30s, including early sketches and covers.

Art: Joshua Middleton

Art: Joshua Middleton

Joshua Middleton has a comic artist’s dream portfolio: known for his line work, he’s worked with both DC and Marvel; Superman, Batman and the X-Men are just a few of his “clients.”

Pow/Kaboom Rings

Pow/Kaboom Rings

Don’t make me bust out my onomatopoeia: these laser-welded Pow! and Kaboom! Rings by Homeroom sport beloved comic book phrases; they’re made with .925 sterling silver.

Batman: Year One

Batman: Year One

Written by Sin City’s Frank Miller and superbly illustrated by David Mazucchelli, Batman: Year One is a gritty look into Batman’s origins and a great companion to The Dark Knight.

Book: Watchmen (Hardcover)

Book: Watchmen (Hardcover)

While Warner Bros’ much-anticipated movie is stuck in legal limbo due to a lawsuit, tide yourself over with this special hardcover edition of Watchmen, available 11/11.

ADVERTISEMENT

Use Arrow Keys ← → for Faster Navigation | Keyboard Shortcuts: OnOff

Home | About | Suggest | Contact | Team | Links | Privacy | Disclosure
Advertise | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Sites We Like

Awesome Stuff: The Awesomer | Gadgets, Games & Geeks: Technabob | Cool Cars: 95Octane
Site Design & Content © 2008-2019 Awesomer Media / The Awesomer™
Visit our Friends at: Not Always Right