Awesome Books

150 Things Men Should Know

150 Things Men Should Know
Buy

24-year-old Gareth May’s 150 Things Every Man Should Know gives the metrosexual generation with a manly reboot; it includes tips from power drills to properly ending a relationship.

Book: A Beer A Day

Book: A Beer A Day
Buy

Jeff Evans lays the foam on thick with A Beer A Day; this 384 page book not only introduces a new brew daily but how it relates to our history, traditions, customs, and culture.

Advertisement

Book: Empty LA

Book: Empty LA
Buy

If you were as simultaneously awe-struck and creeped out as we were by LA Without Traffic, Matt Logue’s Empty Los Angeles is an entire 78-page photo book of a City of (no) Angels.

Book: Visual Miscellaneum

Book: Visual Miscellaneum
Buy

David McCandless’ Visual Miscellaneum book moves beyond staid pie charts and bar graphs: it features colorful infographics that show everything from media scare stories to “in” colors.

Best American Comics ’09

Best American Comics ’09
Buy

In its fourth edition, Best American Comics 2009 features the best of this year’s stories from graphic novels, newspapers, and more; illustrators include KAZ, Chris Ware, and Robert Crumb.

Chuck Norris Fact Book

Chuck Norris Fact Book
Buy

The Official Chuck Norris Fact Book is a 320 page bible authored by the Man himself; it includes 101 “facts”, real anecdotes from Chuck, his favorite quotes, and Chuck’s Code of Life.

Book: Skateboarding 3D

Book: Skateboarding 3D
Buy

No, you’re not seeing double: Sebastian Denz’ Skateboarding 3D is a literally in-your-face book filled with 70+ anaglyph pictures of skateboarders and tricks; 3D glasses are included.

Free Book: Shatnerquake

Free Book: Shatnerquake
Buy

Priceline Shatner would name his own price, but you can’t beat Shatnerquake author Jeff Burk’s offer: his bizarro-cool sci-fi opus about alt-universe Shatners will be free on his website 11/17.

Authorized History of MI5

Authorized History of MI5
Buy

Historian Christopher Andrew’s Authorized History of MI5 is a must for espionage fans; weighing in at 1,056 pages, it spans the history of British Military Intelligence from 1909 to 2009.

Book: Halo Encylopedia

Book: Halo Encylopedia
Buy

The Halo Encyclopedia is a gigantic, ring-sized, 352 page volume covering all Halo games; it packs in a detailed timeline, character profiles, ships & vehicles, and a MJOLNIR history.

Star Trek: Art of the Film

Star Trek: Art of the Film
Buy

With Star Trek on Blu-ray scoring perfect, Star Trek: Art of the Film is icing on cake: the 160 page book includes never before seen set pieces and details on the reimagining of the Enterprise.

The Red Book

The Red Book
Buy

Carl Jung’s The Red Book is one of psychology’s most important works yet seen by only a few; it’s finally available to the world as a 404 page tome with 212 color illustrations.

Book: ABC of Men’s Fashion

Book: ABC of Men’s Fashion
Buy

Don’t know a mohair suit from a motoring coat? ABC of Men’s Fashion is a reprint of the classic 1964 Sir Hardy Amies style bible and packed with technical terms and style how-to’s.

Advertisement

Apollo 11 Owner’s Manual

Apollo 11 Owner’s Manual
Buy

With the Ares I-X a success, boning up on your LEM skills may not be a bad idea; the Apollo 11 Owner’s Manual will teach you how to do burns, orbital rendezvous, and moon landings.

Zombie Recorded Attacks

Zombie Recorded Attacks
Buy

World War Z’s Max Brooks takes a trip down undead memory lane with Recorded Attacks; it’s a graphic novel with “historical” short stories from ancient Rome to the modern West Coast.

The Secret History of Sci-Fi

The Secret History of Sci-Fi
Buy

Mainstream literature has always kept sci-fi at tentacle’s length, but The Secret History of Science Fiction explores the no-man’s land between both with 19 thought-provoking short stories.

When The Game Was Ours

When The Game Was Ours
Buy

When The Game Was Ours brings two legendary competitors together in one book, but as co-authors: Larry Bird and Magic Johnson dish out the goods on a rivalry turned friendship.

Visual Aid Posters

Visual Aid Posters
Buy

Filled with sci-fi size charts, gladiator comparisons, and tie-tying flow charts, Visual Aid’s posters are heaven for infographic lovers; they’re from the two books of the same name.

Book: Toygiants

Book: Toygiants

Photographers and brothers Daniel and Geo Fuchs strike gold (and silver, and black) with Toygiants, an ginormous collection toys owned by Selim Varol; artwork, here; book, here.

The Art of Manliness

The Art of Manliness
Buy

From the eponymous blog, The Art of Manliness is a witty but serious guidebook for men in the 21st century; it covers everything from handshakes and buying flowers to treating snakebites.

Advertisement

Book: Badass

Book: Badass
Buy

Badass is written by Ben Thompson, who has been blogging one badass every week since 2004 on his website; the 352 page book features the 40 baddest badasses ever. Thanks, FF!

Astonishing X-Men Omnibus

Astonishing X-Men Omnibus
Buy

Fans of Joss Whedon and John Cassaday’s original Astonishing X-Men run will love the Omnibus: totaling 672 pages, it includes all 24 issues and Giant Size Astonishing X-Men #1.

Napkin Sketchbook

Napkin Sketchbook
Buy

If the best ideas are scrawled on cocktail napkins, the Napkin Sketchbook will increase pipe dream potential a hundred-fold: it’s packed with 30 blank napkins–about 120 pages.

The LEGO Book

The LEGO Book
Buy

The LEGO Book is Nirvana for brick lovers; it’s a two volume set that includes a 200 page visual guide through LEGO’s history and a 96-page book celebrating the Minifigure.

The Art of Engineering

The Art of Engineering
Buy

Blindingly expensive, The Art of Engineering is a 35 lb. billet bound aluminum book that describes the building of an all-aluminum car based on a Shelby Cobra for Oracle’s Larry Ellison.

Book: Z.E.O.

Book: Z.E.O.
Buy

Human Resources takes on a new meaning with Z.E.O.: A Zombie’s Guide to Getting A(Head) In Business; it’s a 254 page book for those who prefer their 9-5ers to be 6 feet under.

ADVERTISEMENT
« Previous
Next »

Home | About | Suggest | Contact | Team | Links | Privacy | Disclosure
Advertise | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Sites We Like

Awesome Stuff: The Awesomer | Gadgets, Games & Geeks: Technabob | Cool Cars: 95Octane
Site Design & Content © 2008-2022 Awesomer Media / The Awesomer™
Visit our Friends at: Not Always Right